Vibration insulation on a mechanical press, 2016

Vibration isolation at the source – example of a mechanical press

Machine bearing – Why?

Industrial plants generate considerable vibrations that are transferred to floors, walls and ceilings. These are therefore perceived as disturbing not only in the immediate vicinity, but also at a greater distance. The transfer to neighbouring offices or – due to the growth of cities – to adjacent residential areas is particularly undesirable. At the same time, this vibration load can also cause damage to buildings or other machines. Here the well-known principle applies: constant dripping hollows out the stone.

How vibrations are transmitted

Noise from machines can reach the receiver directly through the air. Vibrations of the machine can also be transmitted to the building (so-called structure-borne sound) and thus be sensed or felt. At the same time, the components radiate the vibrations again elsewhere as airborne noise. This leads to an extensive impairment of the quality of life and work.

Polyurethane mats as a solution

Polyurethane (PUR) products from KRAIBURG have been used in vibration isolation for many years. There are two ways to do this:

Receiver insulation

The disturbing vibrations are only suppressed at the receiver. This may be necessary if the source of the interference is not or not sufficiently isolated. On the other hand, the insulation may only be required on a small area.

Source insulation

The vibrations are reduced here before they are transferred to the building. Structural changes in the environment are therefore not necessary.
Depending on the existing boundary conditions, one or the other variant can be aimed for. For various reasons, source insulation is particularly suitable for machines:

  • The contact surface of the machine is usually comparatively small compared to the surfaces on which no disturbing vibrations are to occur.
  • The solution is optimally adapted to the machine.
  • The building is not exposed to harmful vibrations.
  • Source insulation is usually cheaper than retrofitting the building and is also more flexible.

The design of the solution depends on various factors, including the geometry and weight of the machine. This means that bearing can be carried out under the machine in points or strips. A flat bearing or the insulation of only individual machine components can also be implemented.

Advantages of polyurethane products

  • Favourable material
  • Longer service life
  • Can be cut to machine dimensions
  • High insulation effect
  • Low tuning frequencies
  • Compensation of unevenness
  • Easy to process, no maintenance
  • Small sinking in
  • Properties can be optimally adapted for application.

In contrast to rubber products, polyurethanes are characterized by significantly better insulation properties. This can also significantly reduce very low-frequency interference.

A practical example: High-speed press

In 2002, the previously rigidly installed high-speed press (approx. 100 punching strokes/minute) was subsequently installed to decouple vibrations from the hall floor. Due to the slim design of the press with a small floor plan and high centre of gravity, a foundation on a steel plate with underlaid insulation made of polyurethane elastomer was chosen.

Picture: Press rigidly screwed to the hall floor

Mechanical Press

Technical data of the press:

  • Weight of the press: 2200 kg
  • Dimensions of foundation slab: 2,20 m x 1,35 m
  • Weight of the foundation plate: 900 kg
  • Total weight: 3100 kg
  • Speed: 100 Strokes per minute

Picture:  Steel foundation plate

Mechanical Press

The insulation was 50 mm thick, consisting of Dipoelast 2.2 (today PURASYS vibrafoam SD 26), and PUR elastomers with different stiffnesses were chosen to compensate for an eccentric system centre of gravity. The present load caused the mats to deflect about 2.2 mm.

The selected material distribution resulted in the material pressures described in the photo. This area of application is demanding for an elastic mounting in so far as there is a permanent load for many years and strong vibrations occur.

PURASYS vibrafoam/vibradyn products have excellent properties to permanently withstand such requirements.

Abbildung:  Isolierung mit unterschiedlichen Flächenpressungen und zugehörigen PURASYS-Materialien

Mechanical Press

The removal of PUR insulation after 14 years of use

The vibration-insulated press was operated without downtime until October 2016. After about 14 years, the mechanically stressed insulation, wetted at the edges with mineral oils, was replaced by a new one. The old insulation fulfilled its purpose even after 14 years.
The replacement was carried out to investigate the performance of the materials after a long period of use and their ageing behaviour in the KRAIBURG test laboratory.

Picture: Vibration isolated press

Mechanical Press

The exchange was supervised by the engineering office Moschner & Partner from Haiger. The laboratory test was then carried out by KRAIBURG PuraSys GmbH & Co. KG.

Mechanical Press

The figure shows an example of a change in the static spring characteristic curve of dipoelast 2.2 with a component height of 50 mm. The production parameters recorded as standard at the time of production of the installed materials served as a reference. In the example shown, a slight post-hardening could be measured over the service life of 14 years, which, however, hardly differs from the original material. This application example makes it clear that the material used has not lost its very good dynamic properties even after very long use.
The former dipoelast series was transferred to the PURASYS vibrafoam series to cover a continuous range of applications. The Dipoelast 2.2 variant corresponds to the new type SD 26, whose characteristics are printed on the right.

„PURASYS vibrafoam and vibradyn products are used for various machine bearings such as air conditioners, presses and punches. This demanding application in particular shows successfully that this is a high-quality material that repeatedly convinces us and our customers in its long-term behaviour.“
– Guido Moschner, Ingenieurbüro Moschner & Partner

Mechanical Press
Mechanical Press
Mercedes Platz
Mercedes-Square, Berlin, 2017
Maybachstrasse
Maybachstraße 20-24, Frankfurt/Main, Germany, 2017
Menu

Schwingungsisolierung an einer mechanischen Presse, 2016

Schwingungsisolierung an der Quelle — Beispiel einer mechanischen Presse

Lagerung von Maschinen – Wozu?

Industrieanlagen erzeugen im erheblichen Umfang Schwingungen, die sich auf Böden, Wände und Decken übertragen. Diese werden daher nicht nur in unmittelbarer Nähe, sondern auch in größerer Entfernung als störend wahrgenommen. Besonders unerwünscht ist die Übertragung auf benachbarte Büroräume oder – bedingt durch das Wachstum von Städten – auf anliegende Wohngebiete. Gleichzeitig können aus dieser Schwingungsbelastung auch Schäden am Gebäude oder an anderen Maschinen entstehen. Hier gilt das bekannte Prinzip: Steter Tropfen höhlt den Stein.

Wie Schwingungen übertragen werden

Lärm von Maschinen kann zum einen direkt durch die Luft zum Empfänger gelangen. Schwingungen der Maschine können aber auch auf das Gebäude übertragen werden (sogenannter Körperschall) und so ertastet bzw. gefühlt werden. Gleichzeitig strahlen die Bauteile an anderer Stelle die Schwingungen als Luftschall wieder ab. Dies führt zu einer großräumigen Beeinträchtigung der Lebens- und Arbeitsqualität.

Polyurethanmatten als Lösung

Produkte aus Polyurethan (PUR) der Firma KRAIBURG werden seit vielen Jahren in der Schwingungsisolierung eingesetzt. Dabei sind zwei Wege zu unterscheiden:

Empfängerisolation

Die störenden Schwingungen werden erst beim Empfänger unterdrückt. Dies kann zum einen notwendig sein, wenn die Störungsquelle nicht oder nicht ausreichend isoliert ist. Zum anderen mag die Isolierung nur an einer kleinen Fläche benötigt werden.

Quellenisolation

Die Schwingungen werden hier reduziert, bevor sie auf das Gebäude übertragen werden. Bauliche Veränderungen in der Umgebung sind damit nicht erforderlich.
Je nach vorliegenden Randbedingungen kann die eine oder die andere Variante angestrebt werden. Aus verschiedenen Gründen bietet sich gerade bei Maschinen die Quellenisolation an:

  • Die Kontaktfläche der Maschine ist meist ver-
    gleichsweise klein im Vergleich zu den Flächen,
    an denen keine störenden Schwingungen auftreten
    sollen.
  • Die Lösung ist optimal auf die Maschine angepasst.
  • Das Gebäude ist keinen schädlichen Vibrationen
    ausgesetzt.
  • Die Quellenisolierung ist meist günstiger als eine
    nachträgliche Veränderung am Gebäude und zudem
    flexibler.

Die Ausgestaltung der Lösung ist abhängig von verschiedenen Faktoren, u.a. der Geometrie und dem Gewicht der Maschine. So kann die Lagerung punkt- oder streifenweise unter der Maschine erfolgen. Auch eine flächige Lagerung oder die Isolierung nur einzelner Maschinenkomponenten kann umgesetzt werden.

Vorteile der Polyurethanprodukte

  • Günstiger Werkstoff
  • Lange Lebensdauer
  • Zuschneidbar gemäß Maschinenab-
    messungen
  • Hohe Isolationswirkung
  • Niedrige Abstimmfrequenzen
  • Ausgleich von Unebenheiten
  • Einfache Verarbeitbarkeit, keine Wartung
  • Kleine Einsenkung
  • Eigenschaften können für Anwendung optimal
    angepasst werden.

Im Gegensatz zu Gummiprodukten zeichnen sich Polyurethane durch wesentlich bessere Isolierungseigenschaften aus. Dadurch können auch sehr niedrigfrequente Störungen deutlich reduziert werden.

Ein Beispiel aus der Anwendung: Schnellläuferpresse

Im Jahr 2002 wurde die vorher starr aufgestellte Schnellläuferpresse (ca. 100 Stanzhübe/Minute) nachträglich vom Hallenboden schwingungsentkoppelt aufgestellt. Aufgrund der schlanken Bauform der Presse mit kleinem Grundriss und hohem Schwerpunkt wurde eine Gründung auf einer Stahlplatte mit unterlegter Isolierung aus Polyurethan-Elastomer gewählt.

Abbildung: Presse starr auf den Hallenboden geschraubt

Mechanische Presse

Technische Daten zur Presse:

  • Gewicht der Presse: 2200 kg
  • Abmessung Gründungsplatte: 2,20 m x 1,35 m
  • Gewicht Gründungsplatte: 900 kg
  • Gesamtgewicht: 3100 kg
  • Geschwindigkeit: 100 Stanzhübe pro Minute

Abbildung: Gründungsplatte aus Stahl

Mechanische Presse

Die Isolierung wurde 50 mm dick, bestehend aus
Dipoelast 2.2 (heute PURASYS vibrafoam SD 26), ausgeführt und zum Ausgleichen eines außermittigen Systemschwerpunktes wurden PUR-Elastomere mit unterschiedlichen Steifigkeiten gewählt. Die vorliegende Belastung ließ die Matten etwa 2,2 mm einfedern.
Bei der gewählten Materialverteilung ergaben sich die im Foto beschriebenen Materialpressungen.
Dieser Einsatzbereich ist für eine elastische Lagerung insofern anspruchsvoll, als über viele Jahre eine dauerhafte Belastung vorliegt und starke Schwingungen auftreten.
Die PURASYS vibrafoam/vibradyn Produkte besitzen hervorragende Eigenschaften um solchen Anforderungen dauerhaft standzuhalten.

Abbildung: Isolierung mit unterschiedlichen Flächenpressungen und zugehörigen PURASYS-Materialien

Mechanische Presse

Der Ausbau der PUR-Isolierung nach 14 Jahren Einsatz

Die schwingungsisoliert aufgestellte Presse wurde bis zum Oktober 2016 ohne Ausfallzeiten betrieben. Nach ungefähr 14 Jahren wurde dann die mechanisch belastete und am Rand durch Mineralöle benetzte Isolierung durch eine neue ersetzt. Die alte Isolierung erfüllte auch nach 14 Jahren ihren Zweck.
Der Austausch wurde vorgenommen um die Performance der Materialien nach einer langen Einsatzphase und deren Alterungsverhalten im KRAIBURG Prüflabor zu untersuchen.

Abbildung: Schwingungsisoliert aufgestellte Presse

Mechanische Presse

Der Austausch wurde vom Ingenieurbüro Moschner & Partner aus Haiger überwacht. Die labortechnische Untersuchung wurde danach durch die Fa. KRAIBURG PuraSys GmbH & Co. KG durchgeführt.

Mechanische Presse

Beispielhaft ist in der Abbildung die Veränderung der statischen Federkennlinie von Dipoelast 2.2 mit einer Bauteilhöhe von 50 mm gezeigt. Als Referenz dienten die standardmäßig festgehaltenen Produktionsparameter zum Zeitpunkt der Fertigung der eingebauten Materialien. Im gezeigten Beispiel konnte über die Einsatzdauer von 14 Jahren eine geringfügige Nachverhärtung gemessen werden, die sich jedoch kaum zum ursprünglichen Material unterscheidet. Durch dieses Anwendungsbeispiel wird deutlich, dass das eingesetzte Material auch nach sehr langem Einsatz seine sehr guten dynamischen Eigenschaften nicht verloren hat.
Die ehemalige Dipoelast-Serie wurde in die PURASYS vibrafoam-Serie überführt um ein kontinuierliches Einsatzspektrum abdecken zu können. Die Variante Dipoelast 2.2 entspricht dabei der neuen Type SD 26, deren Kennlinien rechts abgedruckt sind.

„PURASYS vibrafoam und vibradyn Produkte setzen wir unter anderem bei unterschiedlichen Maschinenlagerungen wie bspw. Klimaanlagen, Pressen und Stanzen ein. Gerade diese anspruchsvolle Anwendung zeigt wiederholt erfolgreich, dass es sich um ein hochwertiges Material handelt, das uns und unsere Kunden immer wieder auch im Langzeitverhalten überzeugt.“ – Guido Moschner, Ingenieurbüro Moschner & Partner

Mechanische Presse
Mechanische Presse
Mercedes Platz
Mercedes-Platz, Berlin, 2017
Maybachstrasse
Maybachstraße 20-24, Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland, 2017
Menü